Connect with us

Spring Football

Battlehawks and Vipers: XFL reveals team names and logos for 2020 rebirth

The XFL finally revealed team names and logos for their eight-city spring football league that is scheduled to kick-off in February of 2020.

In a slightly bizarre video, league commissioner Oliver Luck was “joined” by Laura Rutledge of ESPN and Colin Cowherd of Fox Sports. Both were by video and neither spoke more than a few sentences.

Unlike the failed Alliance of American Football, which launched and quickly flamed out earlier this year, the new XFL is targeting some of the biggest media markets in the country.

The relaunched league has announced that the 2020 spring season will include teams located in Dallas, Houston, Los Angeles, New York, St. Louis, Seattle, Tampa Bay and Washington DC.

Now, we know that those teams will be named the St. Louis BattleHawks, Tampa Bay Vipers, New York Guardians, Seattle Dragons, LA Wildcats, DC Defenders, Houston Roughnecks and Dallas Renegades.

The XFL will conduct its first player draft in October and include current and former professional football players. Each of the league’s eight teams will draft 70 players. 

Kevin J. Smith covers the world of sports media and entertainment for The Fanatic.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More Spring Football