Connect with us

College Baseball

University of Tampa wins eighth DII baseball championship


Left-fielder Yorvis Torrealba’s two-run single in the bottom of the seventh broke open a tight pitcher’s duel and powered the University of Tampa (45-14) past top-seeded Colorado Mesa 3-1 to claim the Division II national championship yesterday afternoon at Coleman Field in Cary, North Carolina.

Torrealba, a junior from Parkland, Florida, is the son of Venezuelan-born former Colorado Rockies’ catcher Yorvit Torrealba.

It was Tampa’s eighth Division II baseball championship and the fifth under head coach Joe Urso.

Keven Pimentel (13-2), a right-handed senior who allowed just five hits and one unearned run in seven innings, was credited with the victory for the national champion Spartans.

Colorado Mesa’s Trevin Reynolds (7-2) was tagged with the loss.

A perennial power in Division II, the University of Tampa won back-to-back national titles in 1992 and 1993 under head coach Lelo Prado, and again under Urso in 2006 and 2007. The Spartans also captured the national championship in 1998, 2013 and 2015.

Tampa ended the 2019 season on an eleven-game winning streak while sweeping through the NCAA Tournament and advancing to Saturday’s championship game with a 12-0 rout of Mercyhurst (Pa.).

The Colorado Mesa Mavericks finished the season with a 53-12 mark — the most wins in program history.

It was the second time that Colorado Mesa lost in a championship game. In 2014, the Mavericks dropped a 3-2 12-inning heartbreaker to Southern Indiana in the title game.

Darcy G. Richardson is a historian and the author of more than a dozen books. His latest is Loyola's Improbable Ramblers: 55 Years in the Making, available now on Amazon.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More College Baseball