Connect with us


Troy Polamalu, Reggie Wayne among HOF finalists

REUTERS/Aaron Josefczyk

Pittsburgh Steelers safety Troy Polamalu and Indianapolis Colts wide receiver Reggie Wayne were named modern-era finalists for induction into the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Thursday in their first year of eligibility.

The pair is joined by five other first-time finalists, including wideout Torry Holt (sixth year eligible), defensive tackle Bryant Young (sixth), linebacker Zach Thomas (seventh), safety Leroy Butler (14th) and linebacker Sam Mills (18th).

The 15 finalists, of whom five will be selected for enshrinement on “Selection Saturday” on Feb. 1, the day before Super Bowl LIV, also include: defensive tackle Richard Seymour (third year eligible), guard Steve Hutchinson (third), guard Alan Faneca (third), running back Edgerrin James (sixth), wideout Isaac Bruce (sixth), safety John Lynch (eighth), offensive tackle Tony Boselli (14th) and safety Steve Atwater.

All 2019 finalists who were not enshrined were again named finalists. That includes two coaches, Tom Flores and Don Coryell, who were named among 38 finalists in December for a special centennial class of coaches, contributors and senior players. Of that group, two coaches, three contributors and 10 players will be inducted.

Field Level Media brings engaging, quick-hitting and well-written sports news and analysis direct to sports fans on the devices they consume content on. The Fanatic is proud to present reports from FLM via a partnership with Reuters.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More NFL